Put Your Feet Up

What garden? (2004-08-06)

My little place to empty my mind.

The Secret Garden, beautious story and movie (the '93 version...I think it represents it beautifully.)

I think that the story isn't about how a little girl just became normal and nice and lovely...now that I'm older I picked at it...I tried to analyze it. So I've come to the conclusion that it's an analogy of love...how something can happen and make our hearts bitter and cold...and how after a while we build up protective layers. Layers that are so hard to penetrate. And I also think that it's about how something so small and something that seems so insignificant can change everything, make your heart blossom and grow.

Everything in that garden represented inner beauty, love and strength. It's a perfect comparison, a locked away garden, hidden and unused. Then once a seed is planted, things start to grow...courage, intelligence, creativity, physical and emotional strength...and everything in between.

The uncle for instance. He locked away a bit of himself in that garden, and he didn't feel the same until he went back to it. He felt awful all the time, he lacked everything I've talked about before, he had been running from things that had just made him into a wretched person.

In the beginning of the story...everything was cloudy, gray, raining, black, scary....and as you read it you can see things change...the colors, the feelings and emotions of the characters, until at the very end things are full of life.

Anyway, I just needed a place to dump that. woo!

previous || next